Judge A Book By Its Cover

Considering I love to read, the cover of a book isn’t something I have thought a lot about. But I came across a statistic this week stating that 70% of readers say the cover is important and it got me thinking about it. And I realised that on a subconscious level, the cover of a book is actually very important to me.

It is the first thing you see when looking at a novel and if done right, the cover gives you a fairly good indication of what the story is going to be about. It also starts drawing you in and getting you invested in the novel. This includes the title, a good title is attention grabbing and intriguing all on its own.

This made things interesting when I went on a ‘blind date’ at my local library last month. The librarians had wrapped a number of books in brown paper and written the genre on the front with a quote or a brief description of what the book was about. They then invited you to pick one as a ‘blind date’. I ended up with two books I would have never have picked otherwise. One was a non-fiction and the other a Jane Austen novel. The non-fiction I’m slowly getting through, the Austen one I’m tackling this weekend. I’m excited as it’s outside what I normally read these days and I thinkΒ this is good for me. I had become very comfortable with what I read and know what to expect, these I don’t and that is a good thing.

img_20170212_131251_753

The blind dates my daughter and I picked from our local library

Book covers are pretty and are often a piece of art in their own right. But sometimes it pays to ignore them and simply focus on the words. That is where the story is after all.

Happy creating everyone!

4 thoughts on “Judge A Book By Its Cover

  1. Interesting! I had read somewhere that since the rise of bookstagrammers, the cover and how it photographs is now even more important. I’ll think twice next time I see a ‘blind date with a book promoted’ – I’ve never taken that challenge before!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah I can believe that, there are some awesome pictures from bookstagrammers out there. Have a good looking cover and I think it would be photographed a lot. Go for the ‘blind date’ πŸ™‚ One of my books was not my thing at all and I didn’t finish it, but the other one I’m getting there with.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

