Lessons In Mistakes

If any of you follow me on twitter (really not sure if you do), you’ll know that on Friday I attempted to give myself a heart attack while messing around with my blog site.  I deleted things by accident equaling an instant heart palpation that had me momentarily worried for my health. Relax, it worked out okay, both my heart and my blog.

broken-computer

Some of my initial reaction was to do this to my computer, luckily I didn’t.

First let me explain that I’m really not that tech savvy. I tend to fiddle around until I get it right, which was part of my problem on Friday. For awhile now I’ve  been unhappy with how my About page is also my home page. I couldn’t figure out how to make them separate (if you know how and it’s easy, awesome, but for me it wasn’t). So I thought I had figured out that I could just delete the About page, leaving the Home page by itself.

Well…. I hit delete and all the pages disappeared. For a nasty moment I thought I was going to have to start again and nearly cried (as well as have my heart fail). Then I noticed some things were still there so I thought I better check before getting all dramatic.

YES! I had simply deleted a useless menu and now things were all as they should be. After a quick happy dance and a cautious bit of fiddling, my site looked better than before and I was happier.  I’m sure I will continue to fiddle with it, but at the moment I’m content.

jump-for-joy

My reaction when I figured out everything was fine.

Sometimes a mistake/accident can be the best thing that can happen, but really the best thing I learnt out of this was to stay calm and focus on what was in front of me. Otherwise I really would have cried and missed that things had been made accidentally better.

 

3 thoughts on “Lessons In Mistakes

Leave a Reply

