Can Doing Nothing Lead To Something?

This past week has been a real balancing act between writing and other aspects of my life. Although I managed it, with varying degrees of success, I got to the end of the week and I was tired and disheartened. It sucked.

balance

The week felt like a balancing act and any moment I’d fall, drenching myself and failing.

It’s at times like this that I take it back to basics. I didn’t write at all yesterday, mainly because of a massive headache, but the break was needed. My commitment to writing a minimum of 900 words a day no matter what went out the window and instead I snuggled on the couch watching re-runs of Project Runway on low. It. Was. Awesome.

For a while I simply thought of nothing, completely zoned out. Then I started thinking about my characters for my current work in progress (WIP) and about the magical element in my story. Although I didn’t write anything down, I took the pressure off and actually accomplished a lot in the way of getting my mind sorted in regards to some of the mechanics of my story. This led to a fantastic brain storming session first thing this morning, despite a lack of sleep thanks to my youngest child.

galaxy

After a break, my mind felt like it could see everything and led to a great brainstorming session.

And that is the heart of the matter, in doing nothing I actually did something. Were my goals for the day met? No, but today I’m smashing it out of the park and also, I’m not stressing myself out. This creative path is not a straight one and I honestly think that the journey, in all its dips and curves, is marvelous. Even if I need reminding of that on occasion.   Hope you are enjoying your journey, wherever it is taking you.

2 thoughts on “Can Doing Nothing Lead To Something?

  1. I actually think watching reality tv is a good idea for writing a novel as some of the “real life characters” on those shows can be inspiring. My personal favourites for inspiration are The Bachelor and The Bachelorette. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

