The importance of deadlines

Focused

Deadlines give me something to focus on otherwise I’d get nothing done.

I think deadlines are very important and even though I am not a published author I still have deadlines. The most obvious one is Nanowrimo (for more information on what Nanowrimo is, follow this link NaNoWriMo versus Camp NaNoWriMo). But I also create them for myself. I do this by working out how much I need to write (roughly) and then give myself a time limit. At the end of the time limit I get a reward. It can be something simple like ringing my best friend for a chat (blog post reward) or more complex like a day away (finish my manuscript reward).

But I also have other deadlines created by entering competitions. I currently have a deadline that is the end of August and is for a short story competition. It is my first time entering a writing contest since I was a teenager so I’m a little bit nervous. But the upshot of it is, without these self imposed deadlines I would more than likely stuff around not getting much done (other than drinking lots of coffee and going on Instagram), so for me they are a very necessary part of my writing life. It is a way of enforcing discipline on myself.

kick back

Once the deadline is met I reward myself and relax for a bit.

For those of you who don’t need that, sweet and good on you, but I need something to aim for that is tangible and deadlines do that for me.

Leave a Reply

